5/365 Thursday = thrift

I have challenged myself to post something every day for 2017.  Each day will have a broad theme to give me some structure and allow me to cover more of the things I am interested in.

The daily theme for Thursday will be ‘thrift’ – my definition of being thrifty includes using up leftovers, buying second hand or upcycling. It’s not just about saving money, it’s also about cutting down on waste.

In the spirit of thrift I am recycling one of my old posts about using leftover veg and home made stock to make chicken noodle soup. I could hardly wait to make stock  from the turkey bones and vegetables at Christmas. It’s in the freezer right now, with the scrappy bits of leftover turkey, and this will soon become glorious soup.  A week’s worth of lunches, for a tiny amount of money and effort.

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, thrift and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

