1/365 Happy new year

Every year many of us set ourselves goals or resolutions to be ‘better’-  giving up smoking, drinking, chocolate or whatever, or vowing to join the gym, save money, write that novel, get a promotion. All perfectly reasonable resolutions and like most people, I start every year with the best intentions.

And this year is no exception.

One of my aims this year is to post to this blog every day. That’s achievable, right? I have completed a 365 challenge in the past, so I know it can be done. Why am I doing this? Because I have other goals in mind, and by writing them down and tracking my progress, I hope to achieve them too.

Here’s the list (in no particular order). Many of the goals are connected in some way. Some may seem trivial but hey, its MY list:

  • Lose weight. I have fallen off the wagon since last April, so back to SW this week.
    I feel unhealthy and unfit and this has to stop.
  • Meal plan to cut shopping bills and reduce waste. Cook healthy meals, and try new recipes.
  • Work on my capsule wardrobe. I started this when I ditched some of my ‘fat’ clothes.
  • Wear my shoes. I have some seriously fab shoes that I never wear. I’m going to wear them and post pics of the proof.
  • Bust my craft/sewing stash. I’m going to sew for myself and make things that make me happy. Being creative is good for the soul.
  • Look for ways to waste less. I love being thrifty; upcycling and using pre-loved items. I’m going to share my thrifty tips to save money and time.
  • Write my new panto. Deadline June. Eek!
  • Read more. I mean books, not facebook or twitter.
  • Get a new job. This one’s important. My short term contract ends in March, so serious searching starts soon.
  • Move about more. Do some walking or swimming. Look after myself.

I may add others as I go along, but that seems plenty to be going along with. My idea is to set a theme for each day of the week to give some structure, e.g.’Friday = Food’ which could be menu plans or recipes. Tuesday is my weigh in day so that will be SW related.
So, if you are a regular reader, prepare for a daily dose of me and my life.
Thanks for stopping by and I hope 2017 is fabulous for all of us.

 

You may be marvelling at how up-beat and positive I am at this early hour. Truth is, I wrote this last night before I went to a NYE party. I’m probably still asleep, or nursing a hangover right now. The healthy stuff starts tomorrow!

 

 

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 1/365 Happy new year

  1. MrsCraft says:

    Good luck! Will look forward to reading about your progress, I’m aiming to reach my SW target weight by the summer so I can treat myself to nice holiday clothes and not avoid family photos. Happy 2017 to you!

  2. Hannah says:

    Glad to see the return of the DMF 365, I missed it last year!

    An admirable set of goals too. I like the idea of themed days, and am unashamedly stealing this idea from you. One of MY resolutions is to start up a monthly ‘book club’ of sorts, except the participants don’t pick a work of fiction but a cookbook instead, and you can cook (and document) whatever recipes you like from it and report back! Wanna join? I still need a hilarious hashtag for it? Need to get out of my 6 meal ‘rut’!

    Anyway. Hope your flu didn’t stop you enjoying new year – I didn’t touch a drop last night but my head is hurty, my limbs are heavy and I’m inclined to stay in bed…damn cold!!

    • downmyfront says:

      Yes please. I’m in. Sounds brilliant. Will try and think of some hash tags. Abandoned the party at 11.30- didn’t even taste my trifle (which looked awesome).

  3. Pingback: 2/365 Monday = make | Down My Front

Leave a Reply

