When life gives you lemons…

Preserve them!

20160501_170928.jpg

Hands up. I admit it. I am more than a little obsessed with preserved lemons of late. Tagines. Steamed fish parcels. Salads. BBQ. They add a citrus zing to anything and everything. I mentioned them in February when I posted my favourite SW chicken tagine recipe here.
I have been getting mine from M&S at about a fiver a jar. Worth every penny though for these little golden nuggets of flavour. The other week I found a bag of tiny lemons on a market stall in Milton Keynes alongside a feast of exotic vegetables, fruits and spices. About four quid for the bag so I decided to have a go at making my own preserved lemons.
I found several methods on the internet and it seemed very straightforward. Basically just sea salt and er…lemons. wash, slash, pack in sterilised jars. Shake now and then. Wait.

This is how they look after about two weeks; I give them a little shake every day or so.  The salt hasn’t completely dissolved, but there was an awful lot in each jar. They should be ready to eat after four or five weeks. Once opened, keep in the fridge.

 

 

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

