Who ate all the pies?

I read somewhere it was National Pie Week or World Pie Day or something similar, so this weekend I had a go at one of the recipes from the SW Mediterranean Magic cookbook. Here is my take on Spanakopita (spinach and feta pie). I have bought these in the past and remember them as heavenly buttery, cheesy, flaky pastry delights. I was afraid that I might be disappointed with the low fat version…however, my ‘tweaks’ meant it wasn’t quite as low-syn as the book intended. Still a lot fewer than the shop-bought version, though.
I posted this photo on FB and Instagram as it came out of the oven and quite a few people have asked for the recipe. So here it is.

img_20160312_183802.jpgIngredients ( serves 4)
1kg bag of frozen spinach
A bunch of finely chopped spring onions
Handful of chopped fresh dill
Handful of chopped fresh parsley
100g of feta cheese (reduced fat if you can find it) crumbled
400g low fat cottage cheese (original recipe said 250g but I felt it needed more)
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
Salt and pepper
3 eggs, beaten
Frylight
4 sheets of ready rolled filo pastry (original recipe said 2 x 45g, but again, I felt it needed more)

Preheat oven 180C/160 fan/Gas 4
Cook the spinach as per packet, drain and squeeze out as much liquid as you can, using a clean tea towel or kitchen paper. Chop roughly and leave to cool.
Add spring onions, herbs, feta, cottage cheese, garlic and nutmeg. Season and combine, then mix in beaten eggs.
Spray ovenproof dish with frylight and spoon in the spinach mix.
Lightly spray the filo sheets ( I used the buttery frylight) then crumple up and place on top.
Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden. I served mine with minted new potatoes and peas. It would also be lovely with salad.
The other diners loved it. If I’m honest, I think it needed more feta as the cottage cheese wasn’t ‘man enough’ for the quantity of spinach. If I make it again, I would also chop the spinach more finely as it became quite compressed due to all the squeezing. Nevertheless, a solid 8 out of 10 from me. A ‘strong to the finish’ ten from Popeye.
The book says 5.5 syns per serving. I think with the extra pastry, mine was nearer 8 or 9.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Food, slimming world and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who ate all the pies?

Leave a Reply

