SW diary 3 Feb

20160203_182400.jpg

Looking for free food inspiration for tonight’s dinner in my pile of SW magazines I spotted a recipe for salmon and dill tray bake (from May 2014).
I had more or less everything but the salmon in the larder so I substituted some hake fillets from the freezer. I buy these from Costco and find them both delicious and very good value. The fillets are firm and meaty and go well with Mediterranean style flavours.

I confess… I really love a tray bake. A bit of chopping then shove it in the oven and leave it while you watch ‘Pointless’. Or do something useful. Not much washing up either which is a bonus! Tray bake recipes are usually pretty informal so you can adapt it to suit what you have or what you like -or is that just me? I see recipes as suggestions or guides, not to be followed to the letter (or  should that be gramme or millilitre), unless its something technical like baking where you actually do have to, or if you are counting syns, of course.  Otherwise, I just can’t resist tweaking them. Generally it works… but not always!!

Here’s what I did:

  1. Peeled and chopped some potatoes into fairly small chunks and put them in a roasting tin, sprayed with frylight and seasoned with salt. Cooked at 200C for 10 minutes.
  2. Added one sliced red onion, another squirt of frylight, then back in the oven for another 10 mins.
  3. Removed from oven and gave tin a little shake then added the following
    Handful of mangetout
    About 8 cherry tomatoes (plus two chopped vine tomatoes)
    A chopped courgette
    2 hake fillets
    Chopped dill
    Sprinkle of lemon juice
    Salt and pepper
  4. Returned to oven for about 15 minutes to cook the fish.

Fridge to fork in about 40 minutes.
Syn free.
Verdict: 7/10 from me. 8/10 from Martin.  Comments: Bit dry.  Fewer potatoes, more tomatoes.  Maybe a salad on the side. I will be trying this again, with some tweaks. 

Do you cook something similar? Any suggestions?

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Food, slimming world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SW diary 3 Feb

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I love your idea of a tray bake! So many tasty veggies :). I do a fish and dill that is good and easy – https://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2016/01/12/gollums-easy-baked-fish-and-green-seaweed-chili/

  2. Vinny Grette says:

    My favorite fish recipes involve salmon, though. Funny but useful post here – https://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/somethings-fishy/

  3. tswme says:

    I’m just like you, love experimenting with recipes, drives hubby mad “it didn’t taste like this last time” is a frequent phrase in my house, as I hardly ever remember the exact quantities I’ve used! Love the tray bake idea, will definitely be giving that a go. Kate xxx

Leave a Reply

