Five a day the easy way

That other half of the (free) marrow looked accusingly at me this morning. “Use me up” it said. I found a recipe online for marrow curry so decided to give it a go this evening. Of course, I had to tinker with it and it ended up as a vegetable curry which allowed me to use up other veggies from the bottom of the fridge.
All weights and measures are approximate as I normally just use the force 😉
Half a marrow chopped into chunks
Cauliflower broken into small florets
One carrot chopped into small cubes
Steam or boil for about 5 mins to soften.
Meanwhile toast 1tsp of black onion seeds and 1tsp cumin seeds in frylight until they pop. Add 1 chopped onion and 1 crushed clove garlic to the pan and cook for 5 mins. At this point I added some chicken stock as the original recipe used quite a lot of oil to fry.
Add 1 tsp turmeric and 1tsp chilli powder or flakes depending how hot you like it. I used flakes and it was medium spicy.
Add the marrow and vegetables plus a handful of frozen peas and simmer for 10 -15 minutes. I found that the marrow melted into the sauce, maybe I cut mine too small.
image

I served the curry with some chicken pieces which I marinaded in natural yoghurt and curry powder and simply baked in the oven. I microwaved a packet of Tilda brown basmati with quinoa (2.5 sins the packet). Normally I’m a cook-from-scratch kind of gal but these packets are great and also help me to control portions. I know rice is a free food but I am trying not to go mad on carbs as they are my downfall!!
I would definitely make the curry again; it was delicious and comforting and pretty quick to make. A good way to use up odd bits of vegetables too, I can imagine it with green beans, broccoli, spinach, even chickpeas.
Cheap, cheerful and delicious.

Finally, the best news is that I lost another four pounds this week. Go me!

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Food, slimming world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

