What’s the marra?

M’colleague Bob gave me a marrow from his garden. So I thought I’d give it a go for dinner tonight.
The last three weeks have been pretty static, weigh-in wise. A pound, half a pound and a maintain this week. All in the right direction but secretly a bit disappointing. I am stuck at exactly a stone off but that’s not enough!
To get things moving again I have stuck closely to plan so far this week, keeping syns low, focusing on speed foods and protein and cutting back on the carbs I love so much. Fingers crossed I will see a good loss this week.
So, with this in mind the marrow seemed a good idea for Friday night supper.
I peeled and cored half a marrow and cut it into rings about 3cm wide. I put these in a roasting tin, sprayed with frylight and baked in a hottish oven 200C for 15 minutes, turning halfway.
Meanwhile I browned some lean mince in a non stick pan with some snippets of lean bacon, adding some chopped mushrooms and a chopped leek to soften. When soft, I added a tin of chopped tomatoes, some dried herbs (I used oregano and basil) salt and pepper and brought it to a simmer.
Next I pouredr the meat sauce over the part cooked marrow slices, making sure it filled the holes in the rings. Finally grated some fresh nutmeg over the top and returned to oven. After about 15 mins I grated over some parmesan and cooked for a bit longer.
Voila! I was expecting the marrow to give out some liquid so the mince mixture was quite dry. It didn’t! Never mind, it was really very tasty and satisfying and I didn’t miss having potatoes or pasta.
Syn free – count the cheese if not a healthy extra.
Also very economical (cheers Bob). I have half of the marrow left so need to find something else to do with it this weekend. Any suggestions?
image

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Food, Gardening, slimming world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s the marra?

  1. Well done on losing a stone so far. I’m seriously thinking of joining Slimming World again as I can’t seem to do it on my own.

Leave a Reply

