Rice and easy does it

You know me, I love a pun 😀

It’s the weekend (yay) so time to cook something a bit special. Fancy a Saturday night fake away?
I spotted a great recipe in an old slimming world magazine. Lamb biryani – something I like to order in an Indian restaurant, so I was keen to try a low fat version. I decided to serve a vegetable curry on the side, adapted from another SW recipe. I made extra so I can have leftovers for lunch on Monday. Result.

Lamb biryani
Recipe in photo-too long to type up! Hopefully you can read it. (I can’t find a link on line). It calls for marinating and a little time and effort but totally worth it, I promise! This is one we will make again. It’s 1.5 syns per portion because you need a little olive oil.

Vegetable curry – or sag aloo with ‘extras’ – syn free on extra easy
1 large potato peeled and cubed
1 or 2 chopped leeks (or onions)
2 cloves garlic
Curry powder- about 1tbsp, more if you like it hotter
Tin of tomatoes
Tin of chickpeas
Frozen spinach ( defrosted in microwave) 2 or 3 lumps
Grated fresh nutmeg
Chopped fresh coriander – a handful

Parboil the leek and potato for 5 mins then drain and transfer to a hot pan with a squib of frylight.
Stir in curry powder, garlic, then add canned tomatoes and chickpeas. Bring to a simmer. Add spinach and grated nutmeg. Stir and simmer for about 25 mins. Add a splash of water if needed.
Sprinkle over some chopped coriander and serve.

wpid-2015-07-25-19.20.25.jpg.jpeg

Oh so good – next time I might add a little chopped and deseeded cucumber and tomato as a garnish for the biryani. I am pretty sure I have seen it served with hard boiled egg slices on, so maybe that too ( all free foods). Woop!

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Food, slimming world and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rice and easy does it

  1. jax says:

    Ouuu, looks delicious! I usually go for chicken tikka masala at my favorite Indian restaurant, but this is definitely next!

Leave a Reply

