Oh yes I did…

Look what I picked up today! One of my favourite charity shops in Leamington Spa, Action 21, posted a picture of this book on their Facebook page this week and very kindly agreed to keep it for me to collect today. Regular readers will know that I am currently writing a panto to be performed in December this year. The story hinges around a book of fairy tales that has some magical power (because I believe that storytelling is magic) and I am looking for a suitable book which must contain illustrations. Now I have got this one home,  it is certainly quite old and looks like it has survived a hundred years or more (the panto begins in the future).

Sadly, it does not feature the red riding hood story which is kind of crucial to my plot, but I can glue a picture in and the audience will not be able to see from that distance. A blur of red cloak and something vaguely wolf shaped will do! While I was in the shop I also picked up 6 mugs* for £3 A visit to Leamington would not be complete without a trip to our favourite cafe, The Coffee Box,  which is conveniently next to the car park (free for 2 hours to encourage shoppers to the old town. Take note, Banbury council). Chocolate and orange roulade for me, banana and walnut cake for Martin. Very, very, good.   *no photo they are in the dishwasher.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Panto, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh yes I did…

  1. Hannah says:

    Wowzers, great find! We might have to make a “stunt” copy for when it has to get thrown around, it’s too pretty not to have an understudy.

    Also, pics of the cake. Give the readers what they REALLY want… 😛

  2. Thanks for the tip off about Leamington – I had no idea there was free parking! As for Banbury… park behind Lloyds bank if you can get a space. There are no parking restrictions and it’s ideal for hitting the charity shops 😉

    • downmyfront says:

      Court street in Leamington near the station first 2 hours are free. There are a couple of vintage shops under the railway arches and of course my favourite cafe is nearby.
      Thanks for the parking tip!

Leave a Reply

