317/365 Today I reblogged

Today I reblogged this post Interesting… I love Jane Eyre and I also enjoyed Wide Sargasso Sea- have added this to my to read list.

The Writes of Woman

Thornfield Hall, as I’m sure many of you will know, belongs to the Rochester family. It’s where Jane Eyre goes to be a governess and falls in love with Byronic hero, Edward Fairfax Rochester. Jane Stubbs takes us back, long before Jane’s arrival and, through the eyes of Alice Fairfax, housekeeper, gives us a different view of the hall and the events that unfold within its walls.

My mother was gentry. As the daughter of a gentleman and the widow of a clergyman she claimed it as her birthright. She clung desperately to that status. It seemed to console her for the poverty and the meagreness of her life. Throughout my rather miserable childhood she drummed into me the importance of this mystical privilege that a gentlewoman must at all costs cherish and preserve. Never mind that we dined on crusts and scraps and had no fire before six o’clock…

View original post 761 more words

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

