312/365 today I…am seeking comfort

Today I …have been menu planning for the week ahead. I looked through the freezer to try and use up any odd bits that have been lingering at the back.
I scribbled down a rough plan taking into account that I have a busy week with panto rehearsals and related activities. I also have a packed week at work with two deadlines to meet. Dinners need to be easy, go-to recipes, and I will of course be getting the slow cooker out!
Reading back, the list includes:
Slow cooked lamb shanks (Sunday)
Beef stew (slow cooker) with dumplings
Spaghetti bolognese
Shepherds pie
Smoked haddock risotto
Toad in the hole
And to follow ( weekend treats only)
Rhubarb crumble
Rice pudding with stewed prunes

Comfort food!! School dinners anyone? All from scratch and packed with vegetables. Just right for winter evenings. I also have to make chicken noodle soup for work lunches as we are slightly obsessed with it now. I found a great tip for making chicken broth – roast the bones first for better flavour. Just like mama used to make.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

