306/365 Today I…wore this

WEAR SECONDHAND FOR #SECONDHANDFIRST WEEK:
17-23 November 2015

I am going to challenge myself to wear something secondhand every day during #secondhandfirst week. I will post a daily photo on this blog.

Today I wore this:

Shirt from yesterday’s post ( washed but still not ironed).
Vintage boots bought in Truro when we were on holidayn September. ( see here )

 

So, that’s the end of my#secondhandfirstweek- what have I learned?

Although I don’t have as much second hand clothing as I thought, I have an awful lot of clothes that I have had for YEARS. A lot of them are unworn or hardly worn. Some don’t fit me right now, some have NEVER fitted me! Why am I hanging on to clothes that I don’t wear? If I ever lose the weight, they will be out of date…

I have deliberately bought very few new clothes this year. Since I switched jobs from events to publishing  a year ago, I don’t need to buy smart, formal working and evening dresses every summer. I really should ‘shop in my wardrobe’ more- I have to be a little more creative to find ways to wear these clothes or take the decision to get rid of them. I know what I have to do: go through wardrobe. Pull out what hasn’t been worn in the last 6 months. Identify why it hasn’t been worn e.g. button missing, too tight, outdated, doesn’t go with other clothes. Make repairs or adjustments before putting back in wardrobe. Be ruthless and dispose of items I can do without. Sell the good stuff, charity shop the rest.

For instance, I found a jacket hanging in the wardrobe; it fits, I like the colour but hate the big plastic buttons. I have bought some new buttons. I just need to sew them on and I can wear it. There is a matching skirt but it would look better if it was shorter. I will take it into work and ask my friend to pin it up, a quick hem and bingo- I have a suit.  I also have at least two other skirts and some trousers that the jacket goes with. Simple! And FREE.

I love the idea of a capsule wardrobe where eveything mixes and matches- I have aspired towards this for some time, some years with more success than others. I still hang my clothes together in colours so that I can see what ‘goes’. I ask myself ‘what can I wear with this?’ before I buy anything.

I have pledged to buy 50% of my clothes secondhand. I think this is achievable and I am looking forward to the challenge. Luckily, I’m not alone- there are so many fantastic bloggers out there to inspire me…

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, secondhandfirst, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 306/365 Today I…wore this

  1. lizard100 says:

    Well done. The button switch is one of my favourite quick updates. Every little helps.

  2. We have lots in common you and I! I buy something from a charity shop every couple of weeks – try not to buy that much new as I don’t have the income now I’m retired, but the impulse to have more clothes never goes away!

Leave a Reply

