256/365 Today I…made MORE chutney

Today I had to use up the big bag of windfall apples that was accusing me across the kitchen. My good friend Nicky had given me her recipe for apple chutney and also something called ‘Apple Butter’ which is popular in her house. I decided to give them a go.

Apple Butter
(a sweet puree preserve that can be served with rice pudding or porridge)

  • 1.3kg apples
  • 600ml/1 pint cider
  • sugar (I used caster)
  • ground cinnamon
  • ground cloves ( i didn’t have any so left it out)
  1. Wash apples, remove damaged bits, do not peel or core. Cut into small pieces
  2. Simmer in pan with cider until soft and thick
  3. Sieve and weigh pulp. Add 325g sugar for every 450g of pulp and half a level tsp each of cinnamon and cloves
  4. Simmer gently until a spoon drawn across the mixture leaves its own impression.
     I have to confess, my scales were broken so I may not have added as much sugar as the recipe suggests. I simmered for what seemed like ages and finally made the decision “that will do”. I’ve just ‘googled’ some other recipes and learned I should have cooked it for 2-3 hours or overnight in a slow cooker until it’s a spreadable paste. FAIL! 
  5. Pot into sterile, hot jars, store in a  cool dark place.
    The recipe does not say how long it keeps for. I will check back with Nicky and update later.

Shropshire Apple Chutney

  •  2kg apples peeled and cored
  • 900g soft brown sugar ( mine was a mix of dark and light as that’s what I had in the cupboard)
  • 675g chopped onions
  • 1.2L malt vinegar
  • 675g sultanas or raisins ( I used 500g of dried mixed fruit as I had a bag that needed to be used up plus 175g sultanas)
  • 25g ground ginger
  • 15g crushed garlic
  • 25g mustard seed
  • 7g cayenne pepper ( i didn’t have any so left it out)
  1. Cut apples into small pieces, put in a pan with sugar, onions and vinegar, bring to boiling point and simmer until pulpy.
  2. Add all other ingredients and simmer until thick ( about 10-20 minutes)
  3. Bottle in sterile, hot jars. Cool, label and store in cool dark place. Leave for 2-3 months before eating.

I would have to add another step in there. Transfer to different saucepan when it starts to burn on bottom  of pan. Repeat until all saucepans have been used up.  Weep as you scrub burnt chutney off pans. Vow to buy proper preserving pan for next time.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

