245/365 Today I…picked up apples

Today I picked up several bags of cooking apples from around the tree in the car park at my workplace. As the grass is very long and overgrown around the tree it is hard to find the windfalls and many of them are rotten or half eaten by creatures. It seems such a shame to let all that lovely fruit go to waste.  Martin put a tarpaulin under the tree to catch the falling fruit and shook the branches- success!

We gathered about six carrier-bags full which I have left at the office for my colleagues to take home. We bought home a bucket full- now I have to peel, cook and freeze the fruit to be transformed into pies, crumbles, apple sauce and anything else I can think of!
I wish we had some blackberries- there must be a hedgerow somewhere…

IMG_0288

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Gardening, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

