244/365 Today I …am ‘souper’

Brrr, the summer days are gently fading and there’s a nip in the air!  back to work after a lovely week off and looking ahead to autumn- I am looking forward to casting off my flip-flops and saying hi to my boots.

I have to confess that for the last few weeks at work I have been very lazy about lunch and have been buying sandwiches and crisps from the van- this costs me about £3 a day (multiplied to £15 a week, £60 a month …HELP!!) This has to stop- the massive calorie and fat count means I am piling on pounds while spending them.  So, in a bid to save money and lose a few kilos I have been making home made soup. Martin also takes some to work in a flask, so it’s good for both of us.

This weekend I made:

  • Roasted red pepper and tomato ( with garlic, onion, tin of tomatoes, vegetable stock)
  • Split pea and ham
  • Chicken and vegetable with pearl barley ( using home made stock from Sunday’s roast)
  • Leek and potato (*with added carrot and celery for extra flavour)

I now have a freezer full of soup in 500ml portions, enough for the next two weeks. I plan to make some more as soon as I can find some more containers! These are all soups I have made in the past and I don’t use a recipe – I tend to use what I have in the larder.

*Pretty much every soup starts with a base of one leek or onion, two stalks of celery and two or three carrots, I use home made stock if I have any… if not, I use vegetable bouillon powder (Marigold) or a basic chicken stock cube.

As I am trying to keep the calories down, I am not using oil or butter.  If you are not counting the pennies or the calories, soften the vegetables in a little butter or oil before adding the stock/ add a swirl or cream before serving/ float a slice of cheese on toast on the top/ add some croutons or dip in a hunk of bread and butter…

I am on the lookout for soup recipes- preferably low cost-  that freeze well. It’s a long winter until summer salads are with us again! Maybe I started too early?

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

