202/365 Today I… have a panto update

Today I… am looking back to my second ever blog post, which was just about a year ago in August 2013- way before I began the 365 project.

In this post, I talked about my ambition to write a panto.  Since then, I have made my pitch and been commissioned to write the Lynden Players panto for December 2015 which I have also agreed to direct- eek!!

Although the framework of the story was put together last year, I knew I wouldn’t have time to write properly until my degree was completed, and so I began writing in earnest a few weeks ago. I have almost completed a very rough draft of Act One. The plot is developing as I go, and I am very excited about it.  There are one or two holes but I think these can be fixed as we go.

I can’t give too much away, but it is an original story, as yet untitled, that draws on traditional pantomime and fairy tale characters with a hint of sci-fi and a passing nod to The Wizard of Oz.  I aim to have a first draft ready for September, so that I can have a ‘workshop ‘ read through with some friends to get a feel for timings and how it sounds…and to see if its funny!

So, not a massive amount of progress since last year, but I am about where I should be.
By this time next year, however, I should be doing some final polishing, adding topical gags and getting ready for auditions in September. Music, lighting, props, sound FX, choreography, staging, budgets, programmes, marketing- it’s a mammoth task and I haven’t even got a title yet!!! DON’T PANIC.  It will be fine. (Oh, yes it will).

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Entertainment, Panto, Theatre, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

