199/365 Today I…ate junk

Today I…have eaten a massive amount of takeaway food.

I happened to be passing the retail park at 2.00pm during my (late) lunch hour and I was hungry. I could not face queuing in Tesco for a horrible sandwich, and on impulse I went to Burger King. I cannot remember the last time I went in there, but I figured- I need food fast, what’s the harm? It cost me £6, so not a cheap option. Burger, fries and a diet coke. I took it back to work so it wasn’t ever so hot by the time I ate it, but not too bad. It was a DIET coke. Who am I kidding?

Fast forward to this evening, Martin had been out with friend from work and I picked him up at about 7.00pm.  Driving home, it’s Friday, I’m tired, I don’t want to cook now.  “Hey, lets have some fish and chips.” A tenner. Honestly, I pulled most of the batter off the fish and only ate half the chips but still I feel like I’ve eaten a ton of grease today. I see people on those scary TV makeover shows who have poor diets. How do they cope with eating this all the time? Apart from the cost- £16 would normally feed us for several days- it makes you feel like a slug.

I know I am overweight, I know I have issues with portion sizes but I think on the whole my diet is very good. Today I feel ever so slightly ashamed- not a nice feeling 😦

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 199/365 Today I…ate junk

  1. Hannah Hughes says:

    Don’t feel down, its part of a hectic lifestyle! It goes to show how good your attitude towards food is that convenience food really is a compromise when REAL, HOME COOKED FOOD is a treat, not just sustinance.

Leave a Reply

