194/365 Today I…can smell the sea

Today I have been re-living summer holidays without leaving the kitchen.

I had spotted a recipe for some mussels in a magazine and just had to have some. You know that feeling? A quick shopping trip this morning led us to Morrisons- not my usual supermarket- because their fresh fish counter has a very good reputation.

So we bought a bag of mussels- incredibly good value at less than £4 for a big bag. While we were there, I noticed some sardines which had been cleaned, decapitated and butterflied- I love sardines but sometimes they are just too much like hard work. I bought 6, which cost just £1.60.
I grilled them ( 5 minutes)  and we ate them in the garden with some brown bread and gremolata,  (finely chopped garlic, lemon zest and juice, chopped parsley and a splash of olive oil mixed to a loose paste- great with fish). I shut my eyes for a second and I was back in Portugal where we ate these a LOT! No photo, sorry. Too greedy!

A little later, we enjoyed our mussels. Leek, celery and fennel softened in butter and olive oil, then a glass of white wine to steam the mussels. Finished with a slosh of double cream and a sprinkle of parsley. Crusty bread and butter, glass of wine. A holiday in my own back yard. Cheers- or should that be bon appetit?

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

