192/365 Today I… looked in the fridge

Today I… made dinner from the ‘bottom of the fridge’- the term we use in our house for meals that consist of leftovers or stuff that needs using up.

I have my groceries delivered on Fridays which always includes lots of vegetables and salad and fruit for the week.  While I was waiting for it to arrive, I checked out the fridge and noticed that we had a little stockpile in the salad drawer, possibly because we have been eating home grown vegetables from the garden.

With this in mind, I cleared everything out to see what I could use. The salad items- chinese leaf, spring onions, cucumber and beetroot went back in the fridge for tomorrow’s lunch.  I found an avocado, half a pack of St Agur cheese and some sour cream dip that has been open a few days. Roquamole!  Snack for later in front of the TV- well, it is Friday…

I chopped up the following into small dice:

  • 1 leek
  • 3 sticks of celery
  • 1/2  a yellow pepper
  • 2 courgettes ( home grown)

and sweated them gently in some oil and butter before adding a can of chopped tomatoes. I let this simmer and thicken for about 20 minutes, then added a squirt of ketchup ( instead of tomato puree) and a tablespoon of Branston pickle. A teaspoon of sugar and a sprig of fresh thyme to season.  This simmered for about another 10 minutes until I was ready.

I served this with some sausages and brown rice- it was delicious.

Now, pass me that dip…

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

