183/365 Today I…have been listening to ELO

Today I…have been listening to ELO, the Electric Light Orchestra.

I love their 1974 album ‘Eldorado’ .

Eldorado_ELO

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I reminds me of my teens when I had not heard anything like ELO with its mix of lush strings over rock music. The lyrics on this album are all steeped in myth and folk tales but in a ‘modern’ way, not a folky, beardy way (although ELO were quite beardy if I remember rightly) they have an underlying yearning for adventure – the ordinary guy ( or girl) stuck in small town life thinking  “Robin Hood, William Tell, Ivanhoe and Lancelot- they don’t envy me”.

The search for Eldorado- it’s inside us all. I haven’t heard this for quite a few years, I remembered all the words and sang along!  If this isn’t your bag, check out their greatest hits which are bloody marvellous.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Music, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 183/365 Today I…have been listening to ELO

  1. Reblogged this on Sustainability Longevity Stamina and commented:
    There’s no place like home.

Leave a Reply

