182/365 Today I…am inspired by Kirstie

Today I…have been inspired by the fabulous Kirstie Allsopp. I have been watching her programme on TV tonight- Fill your house for FREE on Channel 4.

There are some amazing ideas if you are able to look at things in a different way and use your imagination- even something as simple as a coat of paint can make a difference.  It also helps if you are a skilled craftsman or artist like the professional team that work on her show! Well, what I lack in expertise, I make up in enthusiasm.  I am very keen on up-cycling and re-purposing items; I like to have a go at crafts and luckily my other half is pretty handy with tools if needed.  I have lots of ideas and plans and fun sourcing materials. What I can’t do is get started…

I have signed up for some sites where you can give away items and pick up unwanted things from other people. I am not looking for anything in particular but I have some ideas and we are looking at ‘doing up’ the garden next year. This could just mean that I accumulate more clutter and prospective projects.

First, I need to tackle the jobs that have been waiting for completion- the UFOs or “un-finished objectives” :

  • The mosaic garden table
  • The rocking horse for grandson baby Jackson- need to get a move on with this before he is too big to use it!!

DSCF0881

  • The chest of drawers in the guest bedroom
  • The patchwork quilt
  • all the other things on the list…

We have planned  a car boot sale at the weekend to get rid of some (or all, hopefully) of the unwanted stuff we have collected. Anything remaining will be given away or donated to the charity shop. Any money raised will go towards our holiday- enough for a romantic, candlelit dinner or maybe just fish and chips and an ice cream? 🙂

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Crafts, UFO list, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

