177/365 Today I…graduated

Today I graduated from the University of Warwick, a BA(Hons) in English and Cultural Studies.
It has been a long and emotional day. I felt very proud and honoured to stand up with my fellow graduands, with family and friends there to witness our awards.
Without getting too mushy, I am incredibly grateful for all the support and encouragement I have received over the past six years from all my friends and family.  I can’t mention everyone, but you all know who you are- thank you.  Love and thanks to my son Richard who wasn’t able to be there today but has always believed in me.  I could not have achieved this without your support.  I have to single out two special people who were there with me today, and one who wasn’t. My dad is no longer with us, but I know he would have been very proud.

My lovely husband, Martin, has probably suffered the most…thank you my darling- for all the cups of tea and glasses of wine that quietly appeared when I needed them, for cooking dinner when I was knee deep in essay writing, for the unwavering belief and especially for the fabulous shoes!

Thank you to my beautiful daughter Hannah for reading my essays, for all the love and support over the past six years (including while you were doing your own degree). I am so glad you were there to share and record my special day. Hannah has taken some great photos- I will share some tomorrow, but for now I need a shower and an early night.

In the meantime, here I am taking a selfie, and with Hannah before the ceremony.

A final shout out to my fellow bluestockings and wonder-women: Eve, Cathy and Julie-
WE DID IT!!!!

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

