165/365 Today I…am menu planning

Today I…am menu planning.

This week we kept the shopping to a minimum so I am trying to use up storecupboard/ freezer items. We have a lovely crop of rocket and lettuce leaves in the garden, so salad for lunch just now.

I cooked an extra chicken breast in fennel crumbs last night (see post 164/365 for the recipe) and we sliced it up and ate it cold with lettuce and rocket leaves, some sunblush tomatoes and a couple of olives that needed using up. Gorgeous. Totally forgot to take a photo again.

Looking ahead for this week:

Saturday (today we have been invited to a BBQ this evening, so I am taking a watermelon, feta and olive salad. It’s a Nigella recipe that I’ve made before for parties and family gatherings. I like to serve it in the scooped out melon shell. Here’s one I made last year…

wpid-20130721_140453.jpg

Sunday: Pork steaks in hickory smoke marinade, new potatoes, corn on the cob and salad

Monday: Stir fried chicken, mushrooms and vegetables in ginger and garlic served with udon noodles. I have some mini spring rolls in the freezer, if I deep fry them then I might as well cook some prawn crackers with chilli sauce. Sounding like a feast!

Tuesday: Slow cooker lamb curry with spinach and chickpeas, boiled rice.

Wednesday: I am going to an early evening picnic by the river with some girlfriends. I am taking a home made quiche and possibly home made baked scotch eggs. And some rocket from the garden! Leftovers from last night for Martin. Don’t feel sorry for him, curry is always better the next day.

Thursday: Salmon, new potatoes, peas/green beans from the freezer

Friday: Pasta bake with minced beef, tomatoes, peppers, onions, mushrooms.
Cheesy breadcrumb topping.

Next weekend I have visitors, so frantic tidying on the menu. Only kidding. They know me by now 🙂  I am already thinking about menus for next weekend- I have to come up with a fabulous dessert – what can possibly top this from last time they were here?

20140419Gingernut001

 

Cheesecake? Pavlova?  Trifle? Summer pudding? Baked Alaska? (never tried that one)
I need to consult Nigella…

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

