163/365 Today I…picked up a bargain

Today I… popped in to the local recycling centre to drop off some paper and cardboard.
I couldn’t resist a look in the “shop” where they resell items that people have dropped off- mainly books, crockery, some furniture items and garden equipment. I picked up several items (of course) including a River Cottage cookbook that I’m pretty sure I haven’t got (although it may just have a different cover) :-). I also found some nice cereal bowls which means I can throw away the tatty old ones-hurrah!!
My best bargain was this Wedgwood coffee pot- the pattern is called ‘Meadowsweet’. Isn’t it gorgeous? It’s very unlikely to be used for coffee, but maybe for some flowers, or just as decoration. It would be lovely in the caravan when I get round to decorating. I looked at one of those replacement china sites, these pots are selling for £48. I spent just £3 for the lot. Result! I am very happy with my pretty, and pretty useful, items that I rescued from landfill.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

