147/365 Today I…tasted something special

Today I… am writing about my home-made elderflower cordial.
Inspired by a post I reblogged two weeks ago (133/365 here) from ‘My Make Do and Mend Year’  (original post here) I gathered some elderflowers from the garden at work while we were tending the vegetable patch this weekend.

wpid-20140614_144546.jpg

I found several recipes on-line and chose this one from  www.bbc.co.uk/food

Ingredients
30 elderflower heads
1.7litres/3 pints boiling water
900g/2lb caster sugar
50g/2oz citric acid (available from chemists)
2 unwaxed oranges, sliced
3 unwaxed lemons, sliced

Preparation method
1. Gently rinse over the elderflowers to remove any dirt or bugs
2. Pour the boiling water over the sugar in a very large mixing bowl. Stir
well and leave to cool.
3. Add the citric acid, the orange and lemon slices, and then the
flowers.
4. Cover and leave in a cool place for 24 hours, stirring occasionally.
5. Strain through some muslin and transfer to sterilised bottles. I am keeping mine in the fridge.  I read that you can put it in plastic bottles and freeze it- or freeze in ice cube bags.

I didn’t have any muslin, so used a fine sieve. A small amount of sediment settled in the bottles as you can see in the photo,  so I passed the contents through a coffee filter- result, a clear and delicious cordial. It cost very little money to make- and very little actual time spent apart from 24 hours steeping.  I have tried some simply with water, but will be diluting it with prosecco at the weekend!  We left plenty of flowers on the trees and I am already planning something fabulous with the elderberries!

The consistency of the cordial was thinner, less syrupy, than I expected.  Some recipes I found used a lot more sugar and boiled the mix, I expect they might turn out to be thicker. Anyway, it tastes – and smells- gorgeous. I stewed some gooseberries in a generous slug of cordial and we ate them tonight with a dollop of greek yoghurt.

Something special indeed.

Have a go while the flowers are still around… I’m glad I did.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

