140/365 Today I…got lost in a book

Today I… spent all evening caught up in a novel- you know, when you can’t stop until you have finished it?

wpid-20140610_232234.jpg

 

The Soldier’s Return (2000) by Melvyn Bragg.
The narrative takes place at the end of WW2, where the protagonist, Sam, is coming home from Burma to his wife and 7 year old son and having to adjust to life in a small Cumbrian town.

“When Sam Richardson returns in 1946 from the ‘Forgotten War’ in Burma to Wigton in Cumbria, he finds the town little changed. But the war has changed him, broadening his horizons as well as leaving him with traumatic memories. In addition, his six-year-old son now barely remembers him, and his wife has gained a sense of independence from her wartime jobs. As all three strive to adjust, the bonds of loyalty and love are stretched to breaking point in this taut, and profoundly moving novel.”

I really enjoyed this book. I have just discovered that this is the first in a series of four books following the lives of the same characters through the decades, so I will be looking out for the next one in the charity shops or second hand bookshops where I find most of my reading. In the meantime, I have a very tall pile of books waiting to be read and I am rediscovering the joy of reading ‘just for fun’. I am revisiting some old favourites ( I read Angela Carter’s Nights at the Circus last week)…which is a bit like putting on an old cardi…and I plan to do a lot of reading around some of the authors I have discovered during my studies.

Yesterday, I read this because it was the furthest thing away from six years of literature:

wpid-img_20140518_205634.jpg

It was terrible. But fun.

Live long and prosper * does Vulcan hand thing*… *badly*

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Books, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

