126/365 Today I…am disappointed

Today I received some sad news. Not the saddest thing you will ever read, but I feel a teeny bit crushed.

Back in April I posted here about my good fortune in finding a replacement pair of my favourite Birkenstocks which had finally given up and gone to the great shoe-cupboard in the sky.  I wrote about saying goodbye to my old friends in one of my first ever blogs back in August 2013.

I have been waiting (im)patiently for 8 weeks for them to arrive overland from Germany. At times I would have gladly driven there to pick them up.  Every day I have been looking out for the postman to see if he has a parcel for me. [cue for a song- “Stop! Woah yeah, wait a minute Mr Postman..”]  I sent an email to the company to check on the whereabouts of my sandals…today I got a reply.

They say that they e mailed me the day after the order was submitted to say that my lovely sandals were out of stock. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
I have no recollection of this e mail and can only think that it was designated SPAM and I deleted it by mistake. Eight weeks of false hope- I feel such a fool.

So, farewell to my dream sandals, I will continue to search for a pair that I will love as much. A final photo, and a second look back at our happy times *sob*

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Shoes, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

