125/365 Today I…have a new project

Today I… started my new project. OH. NO, I hear my friends and family say in unison- not ANOTHER one!

Luckily, I never listen to them, so here we go.

The building where I work is a beautiful old country house which has been converted to offices, and we are lucky to have a large garden and car park including a large lawned area where we have the staff BBQ,  a pond, a couple of apple trees and an old greenhouse. One of my colleagues asked if the staff could use a section at the far end of the visitors car park to grow their own vegetables and to their credit, the management said ‘yes’ .

The company arranged for the gardener to remove some turf and create a row of plots for the staff to cultivate. There is an outside tap in the carpark and we can use the greenhouse for seeds etc.

Now, I am not much of a gardener, but Martin has grown fruit and veg before.  We have our rhubarb plant and we are always excited to harvest our little crop. We also grew runner beans and salad leaves last year.

So, today I bought some runner bean plants and some dwarf french beans which we will  be planting this week.  I have some books to help me.

Here is the starting picture of our plot- as you can see, some of my colleagues have already made a start. We are looking forward to cultivating and eating some home grown produce this year. As always, I will keep you posted!

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Gardening, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

