113/365 Today I…made risotto

Today I…made risotto. It’s my ‘go to’ comfort food- simple, quick, storecupboard cooking that can be livened up by whatever you have at hand.

Basic risotto tonight- a leek softened in a little extra virgin rapeseed oil (a new discovery for me and I actually prefer this to olive oil) and butter, arborio rice tossed in the buttery leeks then hot vegetable stock added bit by bit as I stirred. About 20 minutes gentle stirring while chatting about the events of the day- not a chore.

Tonight’s extras were:

the scrappy end and rind of a piece of grana padano- thrown in whole during the stirring process to add extra flavour and fished out before serving
a handful of frozen peas, for texture and also just because I like a splash of green
some ready cooked prawns, defrosted-plump and pink and sweet
a couple of pieces of salmon, grilled from frozen and torn into chunky pieces

When the rice was ready- I stirred in a knob of butter, seasoned to taste and served. The stock cubes can be quite salty, so I don’t automatically add extra salt without tasting.  I usually add grated grana padano or parmesan to risotto but not with seafood.

Tonight’s risotto was good, but I felt it lacked something- fresh herbs, maybe a squeeze of lemon at the end or just a splash of white wine in the stock? Perhaps some chopped fennel with the leek to give a hint of aniseed with the seafood? Ah, there’s an idea for next time…

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 113/365 Today I…made risotto

  1. machinegunmama says:

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

