98/365 Today I…rediscovered a legend

Today I…have been listening to Ella Fitzgerald.

I remember my old french teacher sneering at whichever long haired rock god’s name I had scrawled on my pencil case ( this was the 1970s, my money is on The Boomtown Rats) and saying “None of these idiots can hold a candle to Ella Fitzgerald”.  At the time I thought- what are you talking about old man?… but you know- he was right!

Back in the day, I used to have a cassette (or even a vinyl LP) of Ella singing some classic tracks, but it broke or got lost in a house move. I caught a sneaky peek of Ella while flicking through the TV channels the other night and immediately went online and bought a CD. (Also available to download.) It has a lot of the songs I remember- and what songs they are!

Her voice is gorgeous, the big band arrangements are lush and loud, or barely there just hovering behind her on the quieter numbers.
**Note to female singers on X Factor, The Voice type shows- YOU DON’T NEED TO SHOUT ALL THE TIME!  **
You can hear every word- and what words they are. Like these:

from ‘Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered’ by Rogers & Hart ( from Pal Joey)

When he talks, he is seeking
Words to get, off his chest
Horizontally speaking, he’s at his very best

Vexed again, perplexed again
Thank God, I can be oversexed again
Bewitched, bothered and bewildered – am I

Wise at last, my eyes at last,
Are cutting you down to your size at last
Bewitched, bothered and bewildered – no more

Burned a lot, but learned a lot
And now you are broke, though you earned a lot
Bewitched, bothered and bewildered – no more

Couldn’t eat, was dyspeptic
Life was so hard to bear
Now my heart’s antiseptic
Since you moved out of there

Romance, finis. Your chance, finis.
Those ants that invaded my pants, finis.
Bewitched, bothered and bewildered – no more

listen to the whole song here ( it’s 7 minutes long so make a cup of tea or pour a glass of wine first)

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

