66/365 Today I…am menu planning

Today I… am planning my menus for the week ahead. This is something that I have blogged about before- ( see 45/365) it only takes a few minutes and a notebook.  I have noticed several benefits from this simple task:

  1. When I get home from work, I don’t have to think ‘what’s for dinner’
  2. We are wasting less; I almost never throw anything away ( freezer full of SOUP)
  3. Our shopping bill is much less than it used to be as I only order what we need.

wpid-20140328_192725.jpg
This week I am trying some new recipes that I tore out of the magazines which are being cleared out as part of my decluttering project (see  62/365).  I have also been through my fridge to see what needs to be used up. I have some eggs left over from last week but they are still  in date. I also have some halloumi that I forgot was there but that has a long expiry date- I might use that in something for next week end.  I seem to have several half eaten jars of jam. I will just have to toast a couple of hot cross buns for supper…poor me *wink*

For the week ahead, I have planned:

Saturday:
Lamb, spinach & chickpea curry with nan bread
cucumber and mint raita

Sunday:
I have found a new recipe for boston baked beans- I have all the spices, mustard, black treacle etc that I bought last time I made this dish so I am going to try the new recipe and use up these items.  I have a 3000 word essay to write on Sunday so i need something I can put in the slow cooker and forget about it all day.

I also need to make some soup for next week’s lunches – yellow split pea and ham is one of our favourites.

Monday:
New recipe- creamy crab and pea pasta.  Spaghetti with frozen peas, tinned white crabmeat, creme fraiche, red chilli, lime and coriander.  Quick, easy, store cupboard items plus a few fresh bits out of the fridge. Looking forward to this one.  I have some fresh broccoli in the fridge- I might steam some and add that instead of / as well as the peas.

Tuesday:
Another new one- hardly counts as a recipe, just an assembly job
Pork sausages from the local butcher grilled and served alongside gnocchi with mushrooms, spinach and poached egg. I buy the vacuum packed gnocchi and instead of boiling them, I pan fry them until golden and crunchy ( Nigella style) – in our house we like them better this way. I will then add the sliced chestnut mushrooms and spinach and serve topped with a runny poached egg. Yum…
wpid-20140328_193838.jpg

Wednesday:
Faggots, onion gravy, sweet potato mash and the rest of the broccoli .
Our local butcher makes these faggots- they are amazing. People can be snooty about them, ‘eugh, you don’t know what’s in them’. These same people will happily eat chicken nuggets!   I don’t care-  I have eaten doner kebabs, SOBER!

Thursday:
Smoked haddock and leek risotto.  Proper comfort food.  I might be tempted to sit a runny poached egg on top as I need to use them up.

Friday:
As it’s the end of the week, there’s bound to be some veg in the bottom of the fridge and I know there is some chicken in the freezer. Slow cooker stew should take care of any bits and bobs that need using up.  Any leftover will be called ‘soup’,  frozen and used for lunches.

That’s my plan for the week. Happy eating xx

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

