63/365 Today I…went to book club

Today I…went to book club. The other members of the group are all ‘ladies’ who work at the same company as me.  The idea is we meet after work once a month in the village pub and chat over a coffee or glass of wine about a pre-selected book we have read. Last month’s meeting was cancelled for all sorts of reasons so it was agreed to cover two books at this meeting.

The two novels were :

  1. The Misbegotten by Katherine Webb
  2.  The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

Hmm. Not a great turnout. Only three of us were able to attend. Thank you for coming Nichola and Michelle…quality not quantity *wink*. I had not read the first book due to study commitments but they both had and, from what I heard as they discussed it, they both enjoyed it very much. ( It sounded really good so I will be reading it in the summer after my exams!) I had completed the second book but both of the others had only managed half of it so far. Are you keeping up, reader? We talked about the first part of the story but I did not want to spoil the rest of the book for them so couldn’t talk about the plot twists.

I would recommend The Night Circus if you enjoy magical realism. I enjoyed the romantic element and the mystery  and I liked that some things remained unexplained.

This bit struck me- I believe passionately that ‘someone needs to tell those tales’

wpid-20140325_231149.jpg

and that a tale ‘takes up residence in someone’s soul, becomes their blood and self and purpose. That tale will move them…and who knows what they might do because of it’

wpid-20140325_231502.jpg

The novel reminded me a lot of Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter which is a favourite of mine. Similar themes, similar time-period. I wonder if Ms Morgenstern is also a Carter fan? Anyway. Read them both. Enjoy.

Next month we are reading The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald.  Has anyone seen the film?

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Books, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 63/365 Today I…went to book club

  1. B & the Moon says:

    I loved the Night Circus…read it in one sitting (kept me sane while stuck in hospital)!

Leave a Reply

