59/365 Today I…have been inspired

Today I…have been inspired by a blog I have been following called Simply Being Mum.

I was drawn in by her recent post- ‘declutter 20 things in 20 minutes’ and ended up reading for about an hour. I was inspired not only by the decluttering posts- god knows I could do with some of that- but also with her mantra of reducing food waste: “no waste tastes great”.  I am a meal planner (see here 45/365)  and have noticed that we are spending less, wasting less and eating more creatively since I put that into place.

SBMs blog has motivated me to look even more carefully at my fridge and challenged me to consider my clutter.  I am guilty of hanging on to project clutter; one day I will get round to *insert project here*.  I’m thinking right now of the box of sewing patterns under my bed- if I ever get time to make my own clothes, those patterns will be way out of date. A car boot sale is beckoning- consider them gone!

As for the pile of food magazines that I have collected, here’s my pledge.  I am going to weed them out and only tear out a recipe if I am going to make it in the next 2 months.
I will stick them in my menu planner notebook and try a new one every week.  No more cake recipes. Cake recipes always look great BUT I hardly ever make cakes. Don’t get me wrong, I like cake as much as the next person, possibly more, but I don’t need the temptation!

These words resonated with me. I’m going to print them off and leave them where I can see them:

“I could hang on to all similar items, justifying their space in the home because I will get around to doing it one day.

Or I can cut my potential opportunity losses and free up mental, emotional and physical space.”

I already have a list of projects as long as my arm. I don’t want to add this to the list but if I can try and tackle my clutter, 20 minutes at a time, I hope to free up some ‘mental, emotional and physical space’ to finish the projects that really matter.

Thank you Simply Being Mum. I will continue to enjoy your blog and would recommend it to anyone interested in ‘family life, simply done’.

 

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 59/365 Today I…have been inspired

  1. I did post a comment to this the other day…but it disappeared into the ether.
    Hope the decluttering went well!

  2. Shared on my FB page!

Leave a Reply

