48/365 Today I…

Today I…watched a  lovely TV programme on More 4:  Canal Journey with actors Timothy West and Prunella Scales, who are celebrating their golden wedding by travelling around some of Britain’s waterways.

It was charming; tonight’s episode followed the Kennet & Avon canal from Bath to Devizes. Martin & I have walked or cycled most of this stretch of water and loved seeing the aqueducts and locks again. I couldn’t find any photos from those trips- they were either pre-digital or pre-burglary as we lost all the photos that were on the stolen PC.  Anyway, I have posted some photos from last year when we visited Llangollen.  I think I spotted this canal and the famous aqueduct in the trailer for a later episode.

Tim & Prue, as they call each other, campaigned to restore this stretch of the canal and were the first couple to travel the length of it 23 years ago when it was re-opened. They are clearly devoted to each other. She is over 80 years old, according to the review in the Independent, but amazingly sprightly, clambering over the boat and opening and closing the lock gates. How heartbreaking to hear that she is suffering from a mild form of Alzheimers, but her sense of fun and humour is still there, for now. 

1237977_10201979745645450_972528204_n

Martin at Pontcysyllte aqueduct near Llangollen 2013

I look forward to the next three episodes- I have never been on a narrow boat holiday and maybe I should get round to it before I get too old! I love canals, though- it’s great to walk or cycle along the tow path.

Pontcysyllte aqueduct

Pontcysyllte aqueduct

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Entertainment, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

