47/365 Today I…am sharing

Today I…am sharing my latest treasures that I have rescued from landfill.

As you know, I love a charity shop or recycling centre (aka “the tip”). The thrill of rummaging through cast off junk in search of a hidden gem is my idea of a good time. I have had another visit to the Re-useful centre in Leamington Spa (see post 12/365)and this time I brought home two lovely pots and a hand painted jug.

wpid-20140309_183436.jpgThis yellow plant pot was 50p and I am using it to store kitchen tools.  It matches – near enough- one that I already have.

wpid-20140308_174917.jpgThis white pot was also only 50p and could be used for cooking or as a serving dish. It’s really chunky earthenware, I’m guessing it had a lid once upon a time. I have used it to display some little pots of daffodils (a steal at 4 for £3 from the local farmshop) on the kitchen table.
They bring a touch of spring to the kitchen, don’t they? It’s been such a lovely weekend. Mr K spent several hours polishing my car (bless him) and to celebrate we went for a little spin with the top down-woop! Bring it on…

Anyway, back to the blog.  My third find was this colourful hand painted jug from Italy. It was more expensive (£2) but still a bargain and I fell in love with it right away. I can imagine using it for sangria in the summer or to show off a bunch of tulips?wpid-20140308_124539.jpg
So for just three quid i have found somewhere to store my spatula, a beautiful bowl for bulbs and a jolly nice jug. I will be paying another visit to the shop in future, but I plan to take along some items to donate in exchange. Who knows? They might end up on someone else’s blog.

Here’s a link to the Action 21 blog if you are interested in sustainability.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 47/365 Today I…am sharing

  1. Rude Record says:

    We REscue stuff from point of landfill too. Thanks for sharing your finds. Love the jug made in Italy.

Leave a Reply

