45/365 Today I…am menu planning

Today I… am planning my menus for the week ahead. This is something that I have been doing for a few months with great success-and it only takes a few minutes and a notebook. I tuck any recipes I have torn out of magazines into the back of the book, and also jot down anything I need to add to the grocery order at the bottom of the page. I have noticed several benefits from this simple task:

wpid-20140307_211547.jpg

  1. When I get home from work, I don’t have to think ‘what’s for dinner’
  2. We are wasting less; I almost never throw anything away ( freezer full of SOUP)
  3. Our shopping bill is much less than it used to be as I only order what we need.

We had an Asda delivery tonight so the store cupboard shelves look pretty full.  While putting stuff away, I did a quick stock-take of the fridge and  freezer and scribbled down a list.

I try to vary things through the week, depending who will be here for dinner. For the week ahead, I have planned:

Saturday:
Boston baked beans, with slow cooked pork belly- I tore this recipe out of a magazine a while ago, it looks terrific and it can bubble away all day in the slow cooker while we get on with other things. I will serve it with potato wedges and some home made coleslaw as I have some cabbage and chinese leaf that need to be used up. Later, some guacamole and tortilla chips with a glass of wine while watching The Voice- Hello Saturday night!

Sunday:
Lasagne with minced beef and extra vegetables, maybe some garlic bread- might be having a visitor so will make a big one.

Monday:
Home made sweet and sour chicken with carrots, red onion, peppers, pineapple and any leftover bits of vegetables with rice or noodles- maybe some prawn crackers on the side (with chilli dip!!)

Tuesday:
Smoked haddock and leek  kedgeree with spinach and hard boiled eggs- picked up a recipe card in the supermarket *note to self* buy a lemon

Wednesday:
Wholewheat tagliatelle pasta with bacon, leek and tomato sauce.  Simple but yummy.  I often put mushrooms in this if I have any.

Thursday:
I am out this evening, so Mr K will be having some chicken stew from last week. I made a big slow cooker full and froze what was left.

Friday:
Something easy for the end of the week.  There are some lovely butcher’s sausages in the freezer, I will cook them with some oven chips or home made potato wedges. Maybe open a can of baked beans. Definitely open a bottle of wine- hey, it’s the weekend!

Next weekend- I know my lovely sister and brother in law are visiting so I will be planning something yummy.

Happy eating xx

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

