20/365 Today I…got in a pickle

Today I…made Jamie Oliver’s leftover pickled vegetables from his latest book “Save with Jamie”.  Here’s a blurry photo as proof…

wpid-20140210_191632.jpgAccording to Mr O, it’s a quick and easy way to use up any leftover bits that are hanging around in the fridge, I found: red onion, cucumber, a couple of green beans, a stick of celery, carrots ( cut with my new gadget- a crinkly knife), and a bit of mango.  The liquid is 2 mugs vinegar to 1 mug water, with 1 heaped tbsp each of sugar and salt dissolved into it and then poured over the veg in clean jam jars.  I used white wine vinegar because I had half a bottle on the shelf and added a tiny pinch of chilli flakes to add a little bit of heat.  As I only had enough mixed veg on hand to fill 2 small jars, I only used half the amount of liquid. Double up if you have enough veg- you can also use cauliflower, broccoli, mangetout, radishes etc. add herbs and spices to suit your taste. It took 5 minutes to prepare while I was making dinner.

Ready to eat almost straight away according to the book, but can be left for up to eight weeks in the fridge.  I will let you know how it tastes.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Food, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

