19/365 Today I…

Today I…had a grand day out.

As a birthday treat, my lovely daughter Hannah took me to the V&A in London. What an amazing place-and most of it is FREE- you only pay for special exhibitions. We spent several hours browsing around,  fortified by tea and scones.  Jewellery, paintings, sculpture, photographs, fashion. Some amazing theatrical costumes – one of these gave me some inspiration for my panto- Ladies and gentlemen: The Big Bad Wolf!!  Too scary??wpid-20140209_135430.jpg

Later we had a pre dinner meal at Wahaca in Soho. OH MY! Mexican street food that took me right back to Riviera Maya. Guacamole. Spicy Soup. Chilli pork…too bad we couldn’t manage a pudding- I guess we will have to go back again.

Finally, we saw Austentatious at the Leicester Square Theatre- an improvised Jane Austen novel created on the spot from titles suggested by the audience.  Hannah’s suggestion- “Northanger ABBA- letters from Waterloo” – wasn’t used on the night, but was judged runner up from the unused titles.  The show was hilarious- witty, fast-paced, I cannot recommend it highly enough.  They are taking the show on tour and I am hoping to see it again in Oxford.

Managed to get a seat on the packed train home- tired but happy.  A fabulous day and a wonderful treat to spend it with Hannah- thank you, my beautiful daughter xx

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

