18/365 Today I…

Today I…am in London visiting my daughter Hannah. Bit of a kerfuffle with the oyster card as my pre-payment on line didnt work and they wouldn’t let me on the bus. Managed to sort it but it meant i was a bit later than expected.
On the train i was reading The Golden Chersonese, a Victorian travel book written in the late 1870s by Isabella Bird. She managed to travel all over Asia on her own, on merchant ships,recording her journeys in letters to her sister.
I have always prided myself on my independence and ability to map read and navigate. “I’m like my dad- I never get lost” but I have to admit to a little wobble this evening. I got off the bus and went the wrong way – only for 50 yards- then turned back and realised i didnt know where to go. I felt a bit vulnerable but mostly a bit annoyed with myself for not being properly prepared. I had a little panic -but thought what would Isabella have done? Pull yourself together and get a taxi or ask someone for directions. Grow a pair ffs. I had a map on my phone but didnt want to walk round with my phone in my hand as that seems to be asking for trouble. Luckily my daughter rang me to see where i was and came to meet me.
Alls well that ends well!!

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

