15/365 Today I…

Today I…was told by my editor that I had done some good work on this month’s magazine.
He is a very clever man with high standards and expectations so I was ‘well chuffed’ as you can imagine.
I started my job mid November, so this was only my third issue but I definitely felt a bit more ownership towards this edition. I was given a ‘challenge’ last month to find a news story that might interest our readers from within a lengthy fact-filled, statistical, report that had been published. After discussing my thoughts and notes with the editor, I was invited to have a go at writing it up – only a couple of paragraphs -for this issue. I was very pleased and proud today to see that my news item, with one or two minor edits, had made it to the finished issue. It’s always good to get some positive feedback and for me, such a relief to know for sure that I have made the right move.
The past five and a half years of studying have been tough at times,  fitting in reading around work and family, late nights and essay deadlines, cramming for exams, driving up and down the M40. The course fees. All those books. There have been low moments when I wondered if it was worth it.  I have worked very hard BUT I can see the light.  It’s given me the confidence to take on this new job and to believe I can do it.  Today I… have taken a step forward on my career path.

AAAAND… then a step back. Apparently, on another page I had written a phrase that filled him with horror and which would never be allowed in any of his magazines so…you win some, you lose some!!

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

