13/365 Today I…went to the fair

Today I…went to Spring Fair at the NEC, Birmingham. My boss felt I should visit some of the different retail industry shows to get a feel for them as it is something we cover in our magazines. Spring Fair is a massive trade show that exhibits kitchenware, home, gifts, Christmas products, toys and more. I didn’t get to see it all but I had a good look and chatted with some very interesting people.  I met a very clever lady called Juliet Weimar who trades as Pinny Pockets– she has designed and made some gorgeous vintage-y looking aprons with detachable pockets (velcro) that are oven gloves. You will never lose your oven gloves again!  One to watch I think- don’t forget you saw it here first :-).

I spent a LOT of time admiring soft furnishings- is cushion envy a ‘thing’? – and as for the kitchen equipment: *deep breath*…teapots!  OHHH MYYY. Japanese style, fabulous colours and shapes, textured glazes. “Tea is the new coffee” I am told. Proper leaves in a pot of course, not your everyday supermarket bags.

Upcycled or re-purposed items are still a big trend. Lots of french style, shabby-chic, distressed, ‘annie sloan’ kind of furniture.  Wooden crates and industrial equipment that has bee re-imagined as decorative.  Lots of crafty ideas to be had; you can bet I am planning some projects right now!

I was completely shattered by the end of the day- I felt like I had walked several miles. Can’t wait to get to work tomorrow to write up my notes!

Now it’s time to put my feet up with a cuppa (a supermarket bag in a cup, ah well, a girl can dream of glamorous teapots) and watch some TV, hope I don’t fall asle…zzzzzzzzzz

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

