12/365 Today I…rambled and rummaged

kay view adj

Today I…went for a walk with Mr K- it was a lovely bright day so we drove over to Leamington Spa and explored Newbold Comyn.  I thought it was a really good place to visit- free parking, cycle paths, kids playground, lots of open spaces and also a pub (maybe next time!). We climbed up a small hill to the observation point and the view over the countryside was great. That’s me in my ‘fairport’ hat.

We followed the riverside walk (which was a bit muddy) and crossed into Jephson’s Gardens and ended up in town. It was lovely to see the snowdrops under the trees and there were lots of squirrels scampering about. I was surprised to see one eating from a woman’s hand- surely they will become too fat and lazy to climb the trees if they can get cake. Packs of marauding squirrels demanding coffee and walnut gateaux. I blame the Great British Bake Off.

20140202_124745After a quick cuppa we strolled back along the river. As we were leaving the park I noticed a poster for a charity re-cycling project which was nearby.  I could not miss the chance to rummage through other people’s cast-offs, so we headed off to find The Re-useful Centre.

wpid-20140202_134117.jpgI wish I had found this place sooner! Old furniture crying out to be up-cycled, crockery, glasses, toys, games, old records, bikes, garden stuff…etc, etc. Shelves and shelves of books, many of which were on my English modules. Austen, Dickens, Collins, Eliot, Hardy and many more.  I think a lot of University of Warwick students live in Leamington which may explain the classic volumes.  I was restrained and only bought two books…Leiths Latin American Cookery and a diabetic cookbook.  I also found a pretty melamine tray for the office and an action man figure for my grandson Oliver to play with when he comes over to visit. Only £2.50 for the lot.  I hope to find or make some more clothes for action man. If anyone has any knitting or sewing patterns, please let me know. From memory, I think his physique is more ‘buff’ than Ken, but I can adapt to fit.

wpid-20140202_161842.jpg

All in all, a very good day. Some healthy exercise in the fresh air, some quality time with my lovely husband and some recycling for a worthwhile cause. Good for the body, the heart and the soul. Result.

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in 365 Project, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

