Dressing to Impress: Part One

Welcome to my new project.  For some time I have been looking for a dressing table for the boudoir.  Being a) cash poor and b) eager to do something physically creative for a change, I decided to jump on the latest bandwagon and ‘upcycle’ something ‘pre-loved’.  To translate, I bought an old dressing table from the local recycling centre (tip) for £15 and thought I’d paint it.

I was inspired by a recent visit to The Custard Factory in Birmingham where a lovely furniture artist generously shared some tips and techniques.  Her Facebook page is here .   Thanks to her,  I have purchased some Annie Sloan Chalk Paints, a brush and some special wax.   There are loads of video tutorials on line for different techniques- so armed with a little knowledge and a lot of excitement, I started my project this weekend!

wpid-20131006_180835.jpg

Ready for a transformation

Saturday morning: Here’s the ‘before’ picture- I have removed the mirror and tested one or two paint colours on the end.  The amazing thing about these paints is you do not have to sand or rub down at all- they go straight onto varnish, wax, whatever the surface.  Just wipe over with a damp cloth to remove  dirt/ cobwebs.

Next, I removed the drawers and took off the handles.  They were quite dull and dirty-looking as you can see.  A quick rub with some brass cleaner and voila!  They came up a treat.

wpid-20131012_093553.jpg

Before

wpid-20131012_100330.jpg

After

I painted the drawer fronts and the mirror surround with a soft green (Versailles) and the body of the piece in cream.  I applied two coats because the original wood is quite dark. Watching a video of Annie Sloan, she sloshes it on really quickly and encourages brush strokes for added texture.  My kind of painting!!  The next stage is a clear wax which seals the paint.

Sunday morning: I don’t have a wax brush  (£35!!) yet, so I used an old t-shirt to apply the clear wax, sparingly as instructed.   Now I have to wait 24 hours for the finish to harden before distressing.   Wait! 24 hours!   What a cliffhanger!

Tune in later this week for part 2 where I will reveal the finished object. Tada!

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

