Oh Yes I Will…

Pie in the sky project number one.

“Everybody does have a book in them, but in most cases that’s where it should stay.” (Christopher Hitchens)

I don’t think I have a book in me, but for some time I’ve been playing with the idea of writing a panto.   Cross dressing, bad jokes, boots and fishnets…really, what’s not to love?  As a child during the 1960s and 70s I grew up with Crackerjack  and probably never grew out of it!  I have a germ of an idea that rips off some of my favourite film moments and combines them with traditional pantomime characters and situations.   I have thought of some cheesy songs to move the plot along.  I think that ‘with a little help from my friends’,  I can ‘reach for the stars’ and have a go at making this happen.  It may never see an opening night, but even as an exercise in writing I think it could be FUN.

By writing this down I am making a commitment to myself to HAVE A GO.

  1. I will write something every week.
  2. To give myself a deadline, I will set a date to workshop my ideas with some friends.
  3. I will invite constructive criticism and not completely over-react and take it as a personal insult.

These are of course guidelines and not like a CODE , jeez!

Photos: Lynden Players from  ‘Frankenstein: the Panto’ and ‘The Three Musketeers: Le Panto’

About downmyfront

Interested in cooking and eating, books, theatre, crafts, thrift and upcycling.
This entry was posted in Panto, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh Yes I Will…

  1. fabrickated says:

    Did you write the panto?

    • downmyfront says:

      Hi, thanks for the comments! I am writing the panto for christmas 2015 – its much harder than i expected but i am enjoying the challenge. I took part in the 2014 show which has given me a creative boost. Ive never attempted anything like this before but fear is a great motivator for me. There will be lots of anxious blog posts as the deadline approaches!! Cheers from Kay

Leave a Reply

